Benue Rerun: PDP Lines Up Ortom, Mark, Melaye others as Polling Agents, Returning Officers

Benue Rerun: PDP Lines Up Ortom, Mark, Melaye others as Polling Agents, Returning Officers

The Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, in Benue State has lined up heavy weights in the states as its eyes and ears for the March 23 re-run election in the state.

The party stalwarts who will serve as its polling agents and returning officers as forwarded to the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, are; former Senate President, David Mark, immediate past governor of the state, Gabriel Suswam, erstwhile Minister of Interior, Abba Moro and Governor Samuel Ortom.

Others are a former Director General of the National Agency for Foods and Drug Administration and Control, Dr Paul Orhii, Speaker of the Benue State House of Assembly, Titus Uba and the Secretary to the State Government, Tony Ijohor, SAN.

On the list also are the state chairman of the party, John Ngbede, the state Attorney-General, Michael Gusa, the National Auditor of the party, Agbo Emmanuel, Mike Mku, Frank Utoo, Dr Elijah Ikpaor, Prof. Tor Iorapuu, Steven Iyorchir, Mark Gbillah, Dave Iorhemba, Tyorkyan Cletus, Orker Jev, Bemgba Iortyom, Matthew Nyinta, David Tsevedo, Cyril Gajir and Tersegu Tsegba.

READ ALSO: Rerun: We can’t afford to slack up—Osinbajo

The returning officers, according to the list signed by the state party Publicity Secretary, Bemgbar Iortyom, are Senator Dino Melaye and former Attorney-General of the state, Alex Adum.

Recall that the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, had declared the governorship election in six states, Benue included, inconclusive and subsequently announced March 23 for the supplementary election.

Other states are Kano, Adamawa, Bauchi, Sokoto and Plateau.

In the March 9 election, PDP’s Ortom polled 410,576 votes while the governorship candidate of the All Progressives Congress, Emmanuel Jime, got 329,022 votes.

READ ALSO  2019 FIFA WWC: Buhari Chats Up Super Falcons, Urges them to Bring Back Trophy

The Returning Officer, Prof. Sebastian Maimako, declared the election inconclusive, saying that 121, 011votes were cancelled.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.