APC sets up national convention committee

APC sets up national convention committee

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has constituted a committee to conduct its national elective convention.

According to its National Organising Secretary, Osita Izunaso, in a statement issued on Sunday, the committee is made up of 68 members.

The committee is chaired by the Governor of Jigawa State, Badaru Abubakar, with the Governor of Ondo State as Deputy Chairman and Mr. Ben Uwajumogwu as the secretary.

In the committee too are: Governors Rochas Okorocha (Imo), Kashim Shettima (Borno), Aminu Bello Masari (Katsina), Abiola Ajimobi (Oyo), Ibrahim Gaidam (Yobe), Nasir el-Rufai (Kaduna), Simon Lalong (Plateau), Bindo Jibrilla (Adamawa), Yahaya Bello (Kogi) and Godwin Obaseki (Edo).

Read also: Recruitment of ad-hoc staff not now, beware of fraudsters -INEC

The Minister of Labour and Productivity, Chris Ngige and the Minister of Niger Delta, Uguru Usani are members of the committee too.

Also in the committee are Senators Ahmed Yerima, Adamu Aliero, Danjuma Goje, Abdullahi Adamu, George Akume, Ovie Omo-Agege, Andrew Uchendu, Abdullahi Danbaba, Baba Kuka and John Enoh.

It would be recalled that the decision to hold an elective national convention followed the warning by President Muhammadu Buhari that extending the tenure of the current executive led by Chief John Odigie-Oyegun would lead to a legal crisis in the APC.

The advice countered an earlier decision to extend the tenure of the executives.
The full list is below:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.