2017 Ballon D’or: Ronaldo wins to equal Messi

2017 Ballon D’or: Ronaldo wins to equal Messi

Real Madrid’s Cristiano Ronaldo has won the 2017 Ballon d’Or.

It is the fifth time the Portugal international has won the prize, drawing him level with his great rival Lionel Messi for the most Ballons d’Or of all time.

Ronaldo scored 42 goals across all competitions during the 2016-17 season, leading Real Madrid to a La Liga and Champions League double.

The 32-year-old netted 25 times in La Liga last term and added 12 goals in the Champions League, including a brace in the final against Juventus.

It’s the second straight year Ronaldo has won the award presented by France Football, and he was also named the Best FIFA Men’s Player of 2016-17 in October.

READ ALSO: 2018 World Cup: 1.3m ticket requests in 24 hours

Ronaldo also took home the Ballon d’Or in 2008, 2013, and 2014.

FIFA formerly awarded the Ballon d’Or in conjunction with France Football, but the two entities split their prizes last year.

However, Ronaldo has picked up where he left off last season in this year’s Champions League, scoring in all six of Madrid’s group-stage matches, a feat that had never been accomplished before .

2017 Ballon D'or: Ronaldo wins to equal Messi
Cristiano Ronaldo five ballon D’or winner

But he hasn’t matched that form in La Liga, netting just two times in 10 appearances thus far.

The Portugal star was joined in the top 30 by six of his Real Madrid team-mates: Karim Benzema (25th place), Toni Kroos (17th), Marcelo (16th), Isco (12th), Sergio Ramos (sixth) and Modric (fifth).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.