AFCON Qualifier: Eagles squad against Bafana to be named in May

AFCON Qualifier: Eagles squad against Bafana to be named in May

Following speculations in some quarters over the non-inclusion of some players in the released 25-man squad for Paris camping, the team’s media officer, Toyin Ibitoye, has said a new list will be released later in the month for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against South Africa in Uyo next month.

The list which was released on Monday did not include players like Victor Moses, Ogenyi Onazi, Odion Ighalo, Brown Ideye and Tyrone Ebuehi.

But Ibitoye, via his Twitter handle, clarified that the list released is solely for the camp in France, as another list should be expected for the Bafana clash.

“The 25-man Super Eagles list out this evening is for the Corsica friendly/Paris camp, not for the 2019 AFCON clash versus South Africa,” Ibitoye tweeted Monday night.

“At the end of May, the list of players for 2019 AFCON qualifiers versus Bafana Bafana on June 10 2017 in Uyo will be released.”

In the released list however, Eagles’ Technical Adviser, Gernot Rohr, handed debut invitations to three Nigeria Professional Football League players, Alhassan Ibrahim, Stephen Odey and Sikiru Olatubosun, and also to Vitoria Setubal midfielder Mikel Agu.

The camp will open on May 24th as the friendly game against a team in the Corsica region of France will hold two days later, all in preparation for the AFCON qualifier against South Africa on June 10.

Chelsea’s Ola Aina and Arsenal’s Alex Iwobi will join the rest of the team in camp after their clubs’ English FA Cup final on May 27th.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.