Sirawoo inaugurates SWAN Platform Committee

Sirawoo inaugurates SWAN Platform Committee

The President of Sports Writers Association of Nigeria (SWAN), Mr Honour Sirawoo, has tasked newly inaugurated SWAN Platform Committee to generate ideas that would deepen the relevance of the association in national sports development.

Mr. Sirawoo advised the committee to use the Platform to work in synergy with sports administrators, promoters and operators in the discharge of the association’s responsibility as watchdog of the sports industry.

Speaking while inaugurating the committee recently at the Yankari Games Reserve, Bauchi state, the President urged members to market the association and generate money for its activities.

Sirawoo also charged them to bring the association closer to stakeholders at the grassroots, urging them to use the Platform to further build on the achievements of SWAN.

“The terms of reference of the SWAN National Platform include to generate interview and news for our members, the platform should bring us closer to stakeholders at the grassroots level, the SWAN Platform should create ways to generate revenues for the association.

“There should be a marketing committee in the platform to market the association, we want to use what we have to generate revenue for the association,” Honour Sirawoo added.

Speaking in his acceptance speech, Chairman of the Platform, Mr Tunde Orebiyi, lauded SWAN for deeming the members fit to serve the association.

Orebiyi, who was represented by Vice Chairman, Sina Abimbola, promised on behalf of other members to do everything possible to make SWAN proud.

“It’s daunting task that you are giving us today but we want to assure you that we will not be intimidated. It is a challenging work you are giving us but we will not disappoint this association.

The SWAN National Platform members include Chairman, Mr Tunde Orebiyi; Vice Chairman, Mr Sina Abimbola; Malam Abdulrahman Ibn Mohammed, Mr Jide Alabi, Mr Toyin Ibitoye, Mr Nobert Okoli, while Malam AbdulRaheem Aodu will serve as secretary.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.